History of IMR

  • 1962: Foundation of the Institute for Measurement Technology in Mechanical Engineering (in the Ws)

    Employment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Mintrope

    • Location: Institute for Cutting Machine Tools and Forming Technology (Prof. Bühler)


    • 1 room as an office
    • Allocation of the fine measuring room available there
  • 1963: Relocation to Wilhelm-Busch-Straße

    Structure of the teaching for production metrology Staff:

    • Secretary (Edda Francksen)
    • Chief Engineer (Dr.-Ing.Harald Seidenberg)


    • 2 rooms as an office
  • 1965: Move to the parking garage

    Basic equipment:

    • professor
    • secretary
    • Chief engineer
    • 2 assistants
    • Technician (workshop)
    • Worker (workshop)

    First occupation of the institute:

    • secretary: Karin Othmer
    • Chief engineer: Dr.-Ing. Harald Seidenberg, since 01.08.1967: Dr.-Ing. Walter Ecker, lazer: Apl. Professor, university lecturer, C3 Professor
    • Scientific assistants: Dipl.-Ing. Wilhelm von der Heide, Dipl.-Ing. Harald Halbig
    • DFG-Jobs: Dipl.-Ing. Klaus Röhrentrop (Beginning of acoustics)
    • Auxiliary assistants: Dirk Rotthaus, Hermann Lücke
  • 1969: Expansion of 2 air-conditioned precision measuring rooms in the basement

    Start of research in the fields:

    • Grooved pins (Dipl.-Ing. Wilhelm von der Heide)
    • Surface metrology (Dipl.-Ing. Harald Halbig)
    • Acoustics, process monitoring (Dr.-Ing. Walter Ecker)
    • Heat transfer between surfaces (Dipl.-Ing. Helmut Bley)
    • Cone measurement (Dipl.-Ing. Hermann Lücke)
    • Length measuring probe (Dipl.-Ing. Peter Schmehmann)
    • Tactile diamonds, surface measurement (Dipl.-Ing. Horst Bodschwinna)
    • Optical surface measurement (Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich-Wilhelm Schulze)
    • Measuring of pipes (Dipl.-Ing. Helmut Brandt)


    • Sound, vibration and electrical measurement technology (Dipl.-Ing. Dirk Rotthaus)
    • Holography(Dipl.-Phys. Horst Kreitlow, Zusammenarbeit mit Prof. Welling)
      (Conversion of the approved gauge block interferometer into holographic equipment)
  • 1975: Employment Prof. Dr.-Ing. F. Hock als Institutsleiter

    Establishment of the working groups:

    • Optics / Signal Processing (Dr. -Ing. H. Kreitlow)
    • Production metrology (Dr. -Ing. H. Bodschwinna)
    • Sound and vibration measurement technology (Prof. Dr.-Ing.W. Ecker)
  • 1992: Takeover of the institute management by Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Alarm clock
  • 1996: Employment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. E. Reithmeier as leader