• Zielgruppen
  • Suche

History of IMR

1962:   Formation of the institute for metrology in mechanical engineering (winter term)

Appointment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Mintrop


  • Institute for chipping machine tools and forming (Prof. Bühler)


  • 1 room as office
  • Allocation of the micro-inspection room present

1963:   Move into "Wilhelm-Busch-Strasse"

Assembly of syllabus for production measurement technology


  • Secretary (Edda Francksen)
  • Chief engineer (Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Biederstedt, since 1965 Dr.-Ing. Harald Seidenberg)


  • 2 rooms as offices

1965:   Move to "Parkhaus"

Basic configuration:

  • Professor
  • Secretary
  • Chief engineer
  • 2 assistants
  • Technicians (workshop)
  • Workmen (workshop)

Primary manning of the institute:

  • Secretary: Karin Othmer
  • Chief engineer: Dr.-Ing. Harald Seidenberg, since 01.08.1967: Dr.-Ing. Walter Ecker, later: associate professor, university-lecturer, C3-Professor
  • Scientific assistants: Dipl.-Ing. Wilhelm von der Heide, Dipl.-Ing. Harald Halbig
  • DFG-appointment: Dipl.-Ing. Klaus Röhrentrop (Start of acoustics)
  • Undergraduate assistants: Dirk Rotthaus, Hermann Lücke

1969:   Construction of 2 air-conditioned micro-inspection rooms in the basement

Begin of research in the following fields:

  • Notched taper pins (Dipl.-Ing. Wilhelm von der Heide)
  • Surface-metrology (Dipl.-Ing. Harald Halbig)
  • Acoustics, process monitoring (Dr.-Ing. Walter Ecker)
  • Heat transfer between surfaces (Dipl.-Ing. Helmut Bley)
  • Cone-measurement (Dipl.-Ing. Hermann Lücke)
  • Length-calliper (Dipl.-Ing. Peter Schmehmann)
  • Calliper-diamonds, surface-metrology (Dipl.-Ing. Horst Bodschwinna)
  • Optical surface measurement (Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich-Wilhelm Schulze)
  • Measuring of tubes (Dipl.-Ing. Helmut Brandt)

Assembly of the following divisions:

  • Sonic, vibrational and electrical measuring (Dipl.-Ing. Dirk Rotthaus)
  • Holography (Dipl.-Phys. Horst Kreitlow, cooperation with Prof. Welling)
    (conversion of the allotted Calliper-interferometer into a holografic apparatus)

1975:   Appointment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. F. Hock as director of the institute

Establishment of the following work-groups:

  • Optics / signal-processing (Dr. -Ing. H. Kreitlow)
  • Production measurement technology (Dr. -Ing. H. Bodschwinna)
  • Sonic and vibrational metrology (Prof. Dr.-Ing. W. Ecker)

1992:   Takeover of directorship of the institute by Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. W. Ecker

1996:   Appointment of Prof. Dr.-Ing. E. Reithmeier as director of the institute